T minus… how many hours?

I’m leaving San Francisco in less than 48 hours; this moment that I’ve been anticipating for months is almost here. I’ve told a lot of people about my upcoming internship, and that’s in addition to friends, family, and cohorts/classmates/Smithies. This past week, I met a guy building a place in Phuket when I went to a Sunday brunch with a friend. Randomly in Park Chow at Church and Market, I struck up conversation with a couple older guys who worked at the Asian Art Museum; one of them spent a lot of time in SE Asia, including Thailand. I’ve been hearing about Thailand all from secondhand experience; I’ve grown used to feeling a sense of removal. Now I’m about to board a plane and say goodbye to loved ones whom I won’t see for 8 months.

I couldn’t sleep last night, and I had a throbbing headache. I’m not sure if this is anxiety or if it’s because I watched a DVD disc of “Veronica Mars: Season 1.” (I guess I couldn’t get over the fact that no one in high school could be that precocious.) Or maybe I was fatigued from running around the City all day– getting a rain jacket at North Face, another pair of Zara black pants for work, and acquiring an international driver’s permit at AAA. You know what, though? All this gallivanting and slight sleep deprivation are probably distractions from what’s really going on internally: I’m just not ready to say goodbye yet.

Anyway…

This image of Nobel Peace Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi — the imprisoned Prime Minister-elect of Burma — somewhat depicts how I feel right now. I get a sense of pensiveness. What do you think?

~ by wannabejochen on 27/08/2008.

Leave a Reply

 
